Pinnacle Studio DVD Audio Blues

I have the neatest camcorder, which can capture some awesome high definition video.  I have used it to film my youngest son’s youth football games.  I made a DVD of their team “highlights” and put a couple of songs on the audio track.  I was pretty excited about the quality of the video and the fact that the sound would be created on the disk in Dolby 5.1.

Trouble is, when I burned the DVD there was no sound when played either on my DVD player or in Windows.  After much research and accounts of others having similar problems I found the issue.  Pinnacle Studio 11.1 has a flaw in it that can mispresent the audio format in the IFO file when the DVD is created.  Apparently this is a common problem that Pinnacle has not yet fixed.  It must be an issue of altering output types on the creation of the video; I cannot believe they flat out get it wrong even if you properly choose the options and create the format you want from the get go.  But in any case, it’s a frustrating problem that I am astonished Pinnacle has not addressed (the blog where I found the clue to my solution was FULL of frustrated people with the same problem).

One can either delete the auxiliary files before rendering a new copy of the video, check the box in the properties button when creating the output to re-encode the entire video every time, or if you were lucky enough to have created the DVD to a local folder, use IFOEDIT or a similar tool to modify the properties of the IFO file and correct the audio format.

Leave a comment